Saturday Night We ‘Stand In The Shadows Of Motown’

Saturday nights on AXS TV, we’re delivering you a double dose of music with a movie and concert in our SATURDAY NIGHT SPECIAL!

 

 

Standing In The Shadows of Motown

premieres 9 ET|6 PT
In 1959, Berry Gordy Jr. gathered the best musicians from Detroit’s thriving jazz and blues scene to begin cutting songs for his new record company – Motown. This documentary tells the unforgettable story of the Funk Brothers.
 

Michael McDonald: A Tribute to Motown with Special Guests

at 11 ET|8 ET
Michael McDonald is joined on stage by special guests Toni Braxton, India.Arie, Take 6, and Billy Preston in a special concert that pays tribute to Motown. Don’t miss songs like “I Keep Forgettin’”, “Sweet Freedom”, and the ever popular “What’s Going On”.
 
We “Ain’t Too Proud To Beg” for you to start Start twisting, shouting, watootsie-ing and “Dancin’ In The Streets” to the playlist below to get you ready for Saturday Night:
 

Must-Lounge TV on AXS TV.
Exclusive videos, news & views. Follow AXS TV on Facebook and Twitter.
Never miss a moment. Sign up for weekly newsletters.
Find AXS TV on your TV.
 



 
Tune in September 6 for Nicole Kidman and Ewan McGregor in “Moulin Rouge!” followed by “Mariah Carey: The Adventures of Mimi.” It all starts at 9ET|6PT only on AXS TV!
 

 
“Moulin Rouge!” at 9 ET|6 PT and 12:50aET|9:50pPT
Set against the backdrop of Paris at the turn of the 19th century, an idealistic young writer is drafted into a bohemian entourage and falls in love with an ambitious but doomed showgirl between the hero and a ruthless duke. Nicole Kidman, Ewan McGregor, John Leguizamo, and Jim Broadbent star.

“Mariah Carey: The Adventures of Mimi” at 11:20 ET|8:20 PT and 3:10a ET|12:10p PT
This large scale, sold-out arena production is is a fantasy come true! Tune in for your all-access pass to see the one-of-a-kind Mariah belt out her famous power ballads and pop hits, plus a special guest appearance by Boyz II Men, who perform their record breaking hit duet “One Sweet Day.”

 



This week’s Saturday Night Special:

“ELVIS ON TOUR” at 9 ET|6 PT & 12:20a ET|9:20p PT
Winner of the Golden Globe for Best Documentary Film, “Elvis On Tour” explores the phenomenon that is Elvis Presley, featuring a whirlwind concert tour and personal reflections from Elvis himself on his rise to superstardom. Live performances include “Proud Mary,” “Never Been to Spain,” “Don’t Be Cruel,” “That’s Alright Mama,” “Love Me Tender,” and “Suspicious Minds.”

“Elvis On Tour” is the last film The King ever made, and the only one to win an award – a true must-see for any fan of good old rock n’ roll.

THE ROLLING STONES – “AT THE MAX” at 10:45 ET|7:45 PT & 2a ET| 11p PT
This 1991 concert film was shot in the IMAX format and was originally presented on enormous IMAX screens, with outstanding visual and audio clarity. AXS TV brings that same quality to your TV for a concert experience like no other! Filmed during a European leg of The Rolling Stones’ now-legendary “Steel Wheels” tour, this production boasts 15 songs and an extraordinary stage set.

 



This week’s Saturday Night Special:

“TENDER MERCIES” at 9 ET|6 PT & 12:45a ET|9:45p PT
Winner of two Academy Awards, “Tender Mercies,” starring Robert Duvall, is a compassionate love story tracing the relationship between a burnt-out country western star and the young widow he meets in a small Texas motel.

“GEORGE JONES: 50 YEARS OF HITS” at 10:40 ET|7:40 PT & 2:25a ET|11:25p PT
In this all-star 50th anniversary tribute concert to George Jones, the country legend proves why he has reigned as the king of top-charted hits. George performs solo classic hits and duets with special guests, including Alan Jackson, Kenny Chesney, Wynonna, Martina McBride, Aaron Neville, Harry Connick Jr, Randy Travis, Lorrie Morgan, and Vince Gill.

 



This week’s Saturday Night Special:

THAT THING YOU DO! at 9 ET|6 PT
Set in the summer of 1964, the movie tells the story of the quick rise and fall of a one-hit wonder rock band. Starring Tom Hanks, Charlize Theron, and Steve Zahn. Directed by Tom Hanks.

THE BEACH BOYS 50 – LIVE IN CONCERT at 11 ET|8 PT
Celebrating their 50th anniversary, The Beach Boys came together for a special concert performing classic hits as well as new songs in this once-in-a-lifetime event.

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

Copyright © 2016 AXS TV - All Rights Reserved.