Ron Kruck tabbed as play-by-play man for ‘Strikeforce: Marquardt vs. Saffiedine’

Ron Kruck tabbed as play-by-play man for ‘Strikeforce: Marquardt vs. Saffiedine’Ron Kruck

Inside MMA correspondent Ron Kruck will be the play-by-play announcer for “Strikeforce: Marquardt vs. Saffiedine” on Saturday, joining Showtime’s usual color commentators Frank Shamrock and Pat Miletich. Kruck will fill in for Mauro Ranallo, who normally fills the play-by-play role but is in Canada dealing with some family issues. This is not Kruck’s first time behind the table, however, as he commentated many events for HDNet (now AXS TV), including for the IFL, DREAM, Shark Fights, and the MFC.

“Strikeforce: Marquardt vs. Saffiedine” is the organization’s final event, and will be held in Oklahoma City at the Chesapeake Energy Center. The card, which had originally been touted as having three title fights but was then decimated by injuries, will nonetheless feature many of the biggest names on the Strikeforce roster, including Welterweight champion Nate Marquardt defending his title and Heavyweight champion Daniel Cormier fighting in a non-title affair. Marquardt, Cormier, and several other top fighters are already slated to become part of the UFC roster after the event, but many other fighters’ futures remain uncertain.

The main card of “Strikeforce: Marquardt vs. Saffiedine” airs at 10 PM Eastern time on Showtime, 7 PM Pacific time, and will be preceded by preliminary fights on Showtime Extreme at 8 PM ET/5 PM PT.

Follow Ron Kruck on twitter @rkruck

Copyright © 2016 AXS TV - All Rights Reserved.